iMedicalApps has keenly reported on the growth of digital publishing as a result of the increased availability of eReaders and digital tablets. As the number of physicians using an iPad increases, so the demand for medical journals on this platform increases.

We have recently seen a number of major international medical journals recognise this demand and release iPad versions. This includes the New England Journal of Medicine, The Lancet and the British Medical Journal amongst others.

The first quarter of 2012 has seen significant growth in the number of medical journals available in electronic form which has prompted  iMedicalApps to compile a complete list of all the academic medical journals currently available on the iTunes store into one spreadsheet which is shown below.

The advantages of a digital version includes:

  • The ability to download and store a large number of back issues without any hassle (particularly if Newsstand is adopted)
  • Add, store and share favourite articles with colleagues
  • Add PDFs directly to medical literature management apps such as Papers
  • Add additional media content e.g. video, podcasts and so on.

Medical Journal apps are nearly always free and allow current subscribers to log in which will usually allow access to the complete range of content. Some journals covered below are very basic and only offer the equivalent of a digital PDF version whilst others are far more interactive and allow users to really engage with the content.

Notable absences include: Nature, Cell, Annals of Internal Medicine, Annals of Surgery and more.

**If you have difficulty with scrolling in the below Google Attachment we have copy and pasted the list further below.

 

Journal NameiTunes Link
.AACD Journal of Cosmetic Dentistryhttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/aacd-journal-cosmetic-dentistry/id419877764?mt=8
.Academic Emergency Medicinehttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/aem-journal-for-ipad/id499720129?mt=8
.Acta Orthopaedica Journalhttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/acta-orthopaedica-journal/id445201714?mt=8
.AIDShttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/aids-journal/id494198191?mt=8
.American Journal of Medicinehttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/american-journal-medicine/id466756140?mt=8
.American Journal of Neuroradiology (AJNR)http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/ajnr-mobile/id412064251?mt=8
.American Journal of Nursinghttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/american-journal-of-nursing/id509547549?mt=8
.American Journal of Obstetrics & Gynecologyhttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/american-journal-obstetrics/id466843230?mt=8
.American Journal of Opthalmologyhttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/american-journal-ophthalmology/id467173909?mt=8
.American Journal of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitationhttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/american-journal-physical/id494203929?mt=8
.American Journal of Surgeryhttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/american-journal-surgery/id467176075?mt=8
.American Journal of Transplantationhttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/american-journal-transplantation/id499701628?mt=8
.American Thoracic Society Journalhttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/american-thoracic-society/id507651206?mt=8
.Anesthesia & Analgesiahttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/anesthesia-analgesia/id476230720?mt=8
.Annals of Long Term Carehttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/annals-of-long-term-care/id463536802?mt=8
.Annals of Neurologyhttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/annals-of-neurology-journal/id510326416?mt=8
.Arteriosclerosis, Thrombosis and Vascular Biologyhttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/arteriosclerosis-thrombosis/id509549987?mt=8
.Blood, Journal of American Society Hematologyhttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/blood-journal-american-society/id516804860?mt=8
.British Journal of Urologyhttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/bjui-journal/id470140568?mt=8
.British Medical Journalhttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/bmj-british-medical-journal/id393542270?mt=8
.Cath Lab Digesthttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/cath-lab-digest/id462294615?mt=8
.CHEST Journalhttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/chest-journal/id405558430?mt=8
.Circulationhttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/circulation-journal-american/id441679842?mt=8
.Clinical and Experimental Opthalmologyhttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/clinical-experimental-ophthalmology/id417173603?mt=8
.Continuum: Lifelong Learning in Neurologyhttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/continuum-lifelong-learning/id508969677?mt=8
.Drug Information Journalhttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/drug-information-journal-for/id482080357?mt=8
.EuroInterventionhttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/eurointervention/id466752416?mt=8
.European Journal Cardio-Thoracic Surgeryhttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/ejcts/id431166895?mt=8
.European Journal of Anaesthesiologyhttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/eja-european-journal-anaesthesiology/id496274124?mt=8
.European Journal of Cancerhttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/ejc-app/id461022524?mt=8
.European Society for Cardiologyhttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/esc-journals/id506513718?mt=8
.Gynecologic Oncologyhttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/gynecologic-oncology/id507159984?mt=8
.Health Affairshttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/health-affairs/id481266247?mt=8
.Hospital Pharmacy Journalhttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/hpj-now/id461098877?mt=8
.Hypertensionhttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/hypertension-journal/id496288594?mt=8
.Journa of Infusion Nursinghttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/journal-of-infusion-nursing/id517329615?mt=8
.Journal of American College of Cardiologyhttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/jacc-ipad-edition/id401259610?mt=8
.Journal of Cardiovascular Medicinehttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/journal-cardiovascular-medicine/id504574836?mt=8
.Journal of Clinical Oncologyhttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/journal-of-clinical-oncology/id465016976?mt=8
.Journal of Community and Health Scienceshttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/journal-community-health-sciences/id522059311?mt=8
.Journal of Hypertensionhttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/journal-of-hypertension/id502912921?mt=8
.Journal of Oncology Practicehttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/journal-of-oncology-practice/id465016568?mt=8
.Journal of Orthopaedic Traumahttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/journal-orthopaedic-trauma/id516390872?mt=8
.Journal of the American Society of Nephrologyhttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/journal-american-society-nephrology/id474526457?mt=8
.Journal of the Saudi Heart Associationhttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/saudi-heart-journal/id495943032?mt=8
.Neurologyhttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/neurology/id436881544?mt=8
.Neurology: Clinical Practicehttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/neurology-clinical-practice/id480668751?mt=8
.New England Journal Of Medicinehttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/nejm-ipad-edition/id493976598?mt=8
.Obstetrics & Gynecology – The Green Journalhttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/obstetrics-gynecology-green/id482535245?mt=8
.Opthalmologyhttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/ophthalmology-official-journal/id469489678?mt=8
.Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgeryhttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/otolaryngology-head-neck-surgery/id506508470?mt=8
.Pathology – Journal of the RCPAhttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/pathology-journal-of-the-rcpa/id510011690?mt=8
.Pediatricshttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/pediatrics-magazine/id520888720?mt=8
.Physician Executive Journalhttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/physician-executive-journal/id501170538?mt=8
.PRIME Journalhttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/prime-journal/id516952927?mt=8
.Society of Hospital Medicinehttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/society-hospital-medicine/id436414020?mt=8
.Southern Medical Journalhttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/southern-medical-journal/id496984021?mt=8
.Strokehttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/stroke-journal-american-heart/id492598590?mt=8
.The Dermatologisthttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/the-dermatologist/id463559938?mt=8
.The Endocrine Societyhttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/endo-pubs/id438308412?mt=8
.The Journal of Pathologyhttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/journal-pathology-for-ipad/id510043734?mt=8
.The Journal of Trauma and Acute Care Surgeryhttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/journal-trauma-acute-care/id498337961?mt=8
.The Lancethttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/the-lancet/id483025114?mt=8
.The Nurse Practitionerhttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/the-nurse-practitioner/id516692210?mt=8
.Transplant Trial Watchhttp://itunes.apple.com/us/app/transplant-trial-watch/id511267277?mt=8