A complete list of all academic medical journals available for the iPad

http://cdn.imedicalapps.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/05/medjourn1-300x151.jpg

iMedicalApps has keenly reported on the growth of digital publishing as a result of the increased availability of eReaders and digital tablets. As the number of physicians using an iPad increases, so the demand for medical journals on this platform increases.

We have recently seen a number of major international medical journals recognise this demand and release iPad versions. This includes the New England Journal of Medicine, The Lancet and the British Medical Journal amongst others.

The first quarter of 2012 has seen significant growth in the number of medical journals available in electronic form which has prompted  iMedicalApps to compile a complete list of all the academic medical journals currently available on the iTunes store into one spreadsheet which is shown below.

The advantages of a digital version includes:

  • The ability to download and store a large number of back issues without any hassle (particularly if Newsstand is adopted)
  • Add, store and share favourite articles with colleagues
  • Add PDFs directly to medical literature management apps such as Papers
  • Add additional media content e.g. video, podcasts and so on.

Medical Journal apps are nearly always free and allow current subscribers to log in which will usually allow access to the complete range of content. Some journals covered below are very basic and only offer the equivalent of a digital PDF version whilst others are far more interactive and allow users to really engage with the content.

Notable absences include: Nature, Cell, Annals of Internal Medicine, Annals of Surgery and more.

**If you have difficulty with scrolling in the below Google Attachment we have copy and pasted the list further below.

 

Journal Name iTunes Link
. AACD Journal of Cosmetic Dentistry http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/aacd-journal-cosmetic-dentistry/id419877764?mt=8
. Academic Emergency Medicine http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/aem-journal-for-ipad/id499720129?mt=8
. Acta Orthopaedica Journal http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/acta-orthopaedica-journal/id445201714?mt=8
. AIDS http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/aids-journal/id494198191?mt=8
. American Journal of Medicine http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/american-journal-medicine/id466756140?mt=8
. American Journal of Neuroradiology (AJNR) http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/ajnr-mobile/id412064251?mt=8
. American Journal of Nursing http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/american-journal-of-nursing/id509547549?mt=8
. American Journal of Obstetrics & Gynecology http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/american-journal-obstetrics/id466843230?mt=8
. American Journal of Opthalmology http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/american-journal-ophthalmology/id467173909?mt=8
. American Journal of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/american-journal-physical/id494203929?mt=8
. American Journal of Surgery http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/american-journal-surgery/id467176075?mt=8
. American Journal of Transplantation http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/american-journal-transplantation/id499701628?mt=8
. American Thoracic Society Journal http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/american-thoracic-society/id507651206?mt=8
. Anesthesia & Analgesia http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/anesthesia-analgesia/id476230720?mt=8
. Annals of Long Term Care http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/annals-of-long-term-care/id463536802?mt=8
. Annals of Neurology http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/annals-of-neurology-journal/id510326416?mt=8
. Arteriosclerosis, Thrombosis and Vascular Biology http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/arteriosclerosis-thrombosis/id509549987?mt=8
. Blood, Journal of American Society Hematology http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/blood-journal-american-society/id516804860?mt=8
. British Journal of Urology http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/bjui-journal/id470140568?mt=8
. British Medical Journal http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/bmj-british-medical-journal/id393542270?mt=8
. Cath Lab Digest http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/cath-lab-digest/id462294615?mt=8
. CHEST Journal http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/chest-journal/id405558430?mt=8
. Circulation http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/circulation-journal-american/id441679842?mt=8
. Clinical and Experimental Opthalmology http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/clinical-experimental-ophthalmology/id417173603?mt=8
. Continuum: Lifelong Learning in Neurology http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/continuum-lifelong-learning/id508969677?mt=8
. Drug Information Journal http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/drug-information-journal-for/id482080357?mt=8
. EuroIntervention http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/eurointervention/id466752416?mt=8
. European Journal Cardio-Thoracic Surgery http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/ejcts/id431166895?mt=8
. European Journal of Anaesthesiology http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/eja-european-journal-anaesthesiology/id496274124?mt=8
. European Journal of Cancer http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/ejc-app/id461022524?mt=8
. European Society for Cardiology http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/esc-journals/id506513718?mt=8
. Gynecologic Oncology http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/gynecologic-oncology/id507159984?mt=8
. Health Affairs http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/health-affairs/id481266247?mt=8
. Hospital Pharmacy Journal http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/hpj-now/id461098877?mt=8
. Hypertension http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/hypertension-journal/id496288594?mt=8
. Journa of Infusion Nursing http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/journal-of-infusion-nursing/id517329615?mt=8
. Journal of American College of Cardiology http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/jacc-ipad-edition/id401259610?mt=8
. Journal of Cardiovascular Medicine http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/journal-cardiovascular-medicine/id504574836?mt=8
. Journal of Clinical Oncology http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/journal-of-clinical-oncology/id465016976?mt=8
. Journal of Community and Health Sciences http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/journal-community-health-sciences/id522059311?mt=8
. Journal of Hypertension http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/journal-of-hypertension/id502912921?mt=8
. Journal of Oncology Practice http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/journal-of-oncology-practice/id465016568?mt=8
. Journal of Orthopaedic Trauma http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/journal-orthopaedic-trauma/id516390872?mt=8
. Journal of the American Society of Nephrology http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/journal-american-society-nephrology/id474526457?mt=8
. Journal of the Saudi Heart Association http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/saudi-heart-journal/id495943032?mt=8
. Neurology http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/neurology/id436881544?mt=8
. Neurology: Clinical Practice http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/neurology-clinical-practice/id480668751?mt=8
. New England Journal Of Medicine http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/nejm-ipad-edition/id493976598?mt=8
. Obstetrics & Gynecology – The Green Journal http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/obstetrics-gynecology-green/id482535245?mt=8
. Opthalmology http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/ophthalmology-official-journal/id469489678?mt=8
. Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/otolaryngology-head-neck-surgery/id506508470?mt=8
. Pathology – Journal of the RCPA http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/pathology-journal-of-the-rcpa/id510011690?mt=8
. Pediatrics http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/pediatrics-magazine/id520888720?mt=8
. Physician Executive Journal http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/physician-executive-journal/id501170538?mt=8
. PRIME Journal http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/prime-journal/id516952927?mt=8
. Society of Hospital Medicine http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/society-hospital-medicine/id436414020?mt=8
. Southern Medical Journal http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/southern-medical-journal/id496984021?mt=8
. Stroke http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/stroke-journal-american-heart/id492598590?mt=8
. The Dermatologist http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/the-dermatologist/id463559938?mt=8
. The Endocrine Society http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/endo-pubs/id438308412?mt=8
. The Journal of Pathology http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/journal-pathology-for-ipad/id510043734?mt=8
. The Journal of Trauma and Acute Care Surgery http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/journal-trauma-acute-care/id498337961?mt=8
. The Lancet http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/the-lancet/id483025114?mt=8
. The Nurse Practitioner http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/the-nurse-practitioner/id516692210?mt=8
. Transplant Trial Watch http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/transplant-trial-watch/id511267277?mt=8
Discussion ( 25 comments ) Post a Comment

Comment on this discussion

Your email is never published nor shared.